Disaster declaration issued for Johnson, Monroe, other counties

Johnson County and 11 other Indiana counties are disaster zones after recent tornadoes.

Governor Eric Holcomb requested and President Biden has approved a Major Disaster Declaration for Allen, Benton, Clinton, Grant, Howard, Johnson, Lake, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Sullivan, and White counties.

FEMA assistance is available for temporary housing and home repairs along with low-cost loans for uninsured property damage. This comes after tornadoes and severe storms impacted the areas on March 31st and April 1st.

Residents who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by calling (800) 621-3362.

Story courtesy of TTWN Media Networks